Homeward bound (great now I have to watch that again)

Siem Reap, our time was almost up, so we decided to do a half day at the temple we liked best, Ta Prohm. We ended up missing a bunch of it the first time, so we went back. It was really awesome, except the tourists again. Busloads. They were shoving us out of the way and telling us to move so they could get a picture of them acting silly in front of the ruins.
It was enough to wreck out day, but we just kept going and saw what we wanted to see. 

There was one thing in particular I saw online that I wanted to see there. Actually (being a huge geek) I saw it on ancient aliens. It was supposedly a stegosaurus carved into one of the walls. Some people believe that it is just a pig or dog with a leaf behind it, and having seen it I’m inclined to agree. But it’s also just fun to think it’s a stegosaurus, and hey, it does look like one! 

We did a little shopping downtown Siem Reap and even checked out the night market. I didn’t try these delicacies, I have limits. But I did take some photos, and maybe you all are braver than I? Would you try these? There were tarantulas, snakes, frogs, cockroaches, scorpions, and other bugs. Thanks but no thanks.. 

Actually I forgot about this, we also visited one more temple, banteay srei. It was like a mini temple. It was Stefanie’s favourite, I thought it was pretty, but I was a little indifferent about it to be honest.The monkey sculpture guys were cool!

Before leaving Siem Reap, we took one last dip in our gorgeous pool, even though it decided to have a little tropical downpour! 

Leaving Siem Reap, we headed to the airport and made our way to Bangkok, Thailand. We only had one night and one day there. We didn’t get to see too much. Our hotel was pretty rad.  This is the atrium, so cool! I did see an insane number of fish swimming in the river. We took a tuk tuk, I like them better in Thailand then I did in Cambodia. They were little rockets and the drivers were crazy. Lots of fun! (Tip: Bargain hard with tuk tuk drivers in Bangkok, there are millions of them, and they expect it). I also got some henna done in Bangkok. It was just too pretty to pass up. The artist was a guy named Em, he was hung over like crazy and still did an incredible job! Thanks Em!!! 

Our way back to Canada we had to stop yet again in Xiamen, China. This time customs were ridiculously painful. We went through at least 4, possibly 5 security checks, etc. We also had to force them to let us go through customs, as they said (and by said I mean this dude pointed to a card that said) customs was closed, cut off finished. I think the 20 of us headed to Vancouver we’re ready to attack that guy, and after some intense shouting, they let us through. It was a gong show, pun intended. 

Anyhow, now I’m back in happily passive Canada. And as happy as I am to be home, I’m already planning my next trip. Thinking of going somewhere in March or April, so stay tuned!! 

If you have been following my South East Asia adventure, Thanks again for coming on this quick trip with me! Much love, happiness, and safe travels!

Until next time, 

Cheers! 

Lisa 

One comment

Leave a comment