German Adventures

Deutschland so far 🙂
I arrived in Germany by flying from London Stansted to Hannover. I had booked a hotel right near the train station in Hannover to make my life easier, and I did indeed splurge on a hotel. It was worth it, apart from having shitty wifi (so I couldn’t post a blog), it was a clean comfy room all to myself. Amazing.
Hannover was beautiful. 20140722-123256-45176058.jpg It had a section know as “Old town” which was post card Germany. It also had some great bug shopping and I found myself a nice lightweight tank top. I also found an amazing ice cream place. Just follow the giant lineup! It’s in the train station and it’s called Colosseum. It was O-licious. And just incase you don’t know, that’s better than D-licious. I had Butterkuke and Karemel. Yummmm.
So, I know a tiny bit of German. I took a class in high school and got top grades, but that’s was… well, a while ago. My German friends insisted that most Germans speak English and that I wouldn’t have trouble. Well, that might be true, but the majority of people I met, did not. I was fairly confused and stressed, but I’m over it, and I’m learning a little bit more German because of it.
I ended my first day in Germany with a chilliwurst, which is a spicy sausage. Not a hot dog with chilli on top… Hahah yep. As I choked down this random thing I managed to try and order in German, I watched all the people go by on their bicycles. I wanted to join them, it was so hot and humid, it looked like the way to go. Wind in your hair and a relaxing bike ride around town. I was tres jealous.
The next day I wandered town again, took some photos, ate some more ice cream, then caught the train to Braunschweig to meet up with my friend Pascal.
Pascal was waiting for me as I exited the train, which was great. Stress free!
We headed to his girlfriend Julia’s house and had a mini barbecue, which was perfect.

20140722-123356-45236726.jpg I got to meet her adorable pug Balu! We stayed the night there in preparation to go to the Autostadt,

20140722-123217-45137051.jpg which is the headquarters, the factory, the showroom, and the almost theme park land of Volkswagen.

20140722-123117-45077127.jpg It is truly laid out like Disneyland, but for car lovers. Each area is a different branch of their company. From Porsche and Lamborghini to Volkswagen and Audi.
It was cool to see, although the day was hot and made it hard to concentrate. I was probably close to heat stroke although I did my best to prevent it.
The next day, we went to MPS Mittelalterlich Phantasie Spectaculum 2014. That’s a mouthful eh?! It means Medieval Fantasy Spectacle. It was a medieval fair and it also had some bigger bands.

20140722-123658-45418181.jpg It was pretty fun, although I missed my nerdy friends from home. There was no way to be at this kind of thing and not miss my friends. Again, it was crazy hot, although we were lucky enough to have cloud cover almost all day.
Let me tell you, my itinerary for Germany is “chocka” (full). The day after MPS we went to Heide Park, which is a pretty rad theme park in northern Germany. It had record breaking coasters like Colossus.

20140722-123756-45476059.jpg Colossus is in the Guinness Book of world records for the steepest drop angle for a wooden roller coaster at 61 degrees. Let’s just say it was scary enough to make me swear in German. We also got to ride Heide Park’s newest ride. It was the demon coaster. It was really awesome.

20140722-123949-45589966.jpg There was the Swiss bobsled on which we got our picture taken. There was a river rafting ride which was really fun and got us all laughing. We finished the day by riding the coolest looking ride,

20140722-124052-45652481.jpg The Krake or Kraken in English. It was a coaster that dangles you above the mouth of a kraken that is sinking a ship. Then you fall straight into the mouth of the kraken and into the ship. It was soo much fun!
After Heide Park we made our way to Pascals parents house in Kiel via Hamburg. Kiel is beautiful, probably because it’s nice and cool with a beautiful breeze even when it’s sunny. His parents made us all delicious Barbecue.
Today we head to Berlin and will be there for two nights.
Sorry it took so long to write, but as you can see, my itinerary hasn’t let much time to write, let alone edit and post it all.
Happy travels and guten tag!

One comment

Leave a comment